CODART, Dutch and Flemish art in museums worldwide

Schloss Mosigkau, Das Gartenreich Dessau-Wörlitz


Schloss Mosigkau, called “small Sanssouci” was built by Princess Anna Wilhelmine of Anhalt-Dessau in 1752. The core area of the main building is formed by a gallery of the paintings collection. Unique in Germany is the mostly preserved “baroque” hanging of the artworks in recessed wall panels. The gallery constitutes mostly of paintings by famous Dutch and Flemish artists of the seventeenth century such as the Flemish Jan Brueghel the Elder, Peter Paul Rubens, Jacob Jordaens, Anthony van Dyck, Hendrick de Clerck, Denis van Alsloot, Thomas Willeboirts Bosschaert, Theodor van Thulden and Jan Fyt, as well as and Jan Davidsz. de Heem, Paulus Moreelse, Karel Dujardin, Abraham Mignon, Jan and Daniel Mijtens, Hendrick Goltzius, Salomon Koninck, Gerard van Honthorst and others from the northern Netherlands. The paintings came to Anhalt through the inheritance of Princess Henriette Catharina who had moved  to Dessau for her marriage. She was one of the four daughters of the stadtholders Frederik Hendrik of Orange-Nassau and Amalia van Solms.

Dr. Wolfgang Savelsberg, Head of the Department of Palaces (May 2020)

Schloss Mosigkau is a part of the Dessau-Wörlitz Garden Realm, which is administered by the Dessau-Wörlitz Cultural Foundation.