The castle complex Oberes Schloss (Upper Castle) has its roots in the thirteenth century. Since 1905 it houses the municipal museum of the University town Siegen. As the secondary residence of the House of Nassau and birthplace of the Flemish Baroque painter Peter Paul Rubens, the museum showcases an extensive portrait gallery of the Orange family, ranging from William the Silent to William the third, Stadtholder of the Netherlands, and King of England. A highlight is the exceptional series of child portraits by Daniel van den Queborn dated in the second half of the sixteenth century depicting five of the six daughters of William the Silent. Moreover, Johann Maurits of Nassau-Siegen, sovereign of Siegen and called the Brazilian, plays a large role in the permanent exhibition of the museum. Also important are paintings by Rubens from different periods of his life, among them a Descent from the Cross from around 1600 which has probably been made for the duchess Eleonora of Mantua. In the collection are also numerous prints, etchings, and woodcuts after works by famous Flemish artists, which are on view in temporary presentations or on loan to other museums.
Ursula Blanchebarbe, Curator (May 2020)